Participatory GIS at NTNU, Norway – is there any?

Thanks to the EEA Grants and Norway Grants I am able to visit the Department of Geography at NTNU (Trondheim, Norway). The aim of my stay is to learn and observe, how local experts teach GIS in context of Development Studies, as well as to share some of my experience. Currently, the first week of my stay is behind me and I had meetings with Hans Ola FredinTomasz OpachJan Ketil RødHilde Refstie and Ragnvald Larsen.

Hans is geologist responsible for GIS courses and he is not really doing lot of participatory mapping projects (yet), but I guess we can find some common grounds. Tomasz is Polish Post-Doc, who is programming fantastic data-visualisation applications, mainly for multi-variable data. Unfortunately lot of his research is not published yet, so I cant really show it here, but I will post it, once it is published. Jan is the full professor at NTNU and probably the one responsible for GIS there. I am very much looking forward working with him as I think there may be some future work done. Hilde is a PhD candidate with her research based in Malawi with Slum Dwellers International (SDI). SDI does some community mapping, so I will have to have a look at this more in detail later. Last person I met was Ragnvald who is working for Norwegian Environment Agency, besides many also working on projects like “Oil for Development“.  Ragnvald is also preparing interesting crowdsourcing platform for animal car kills in Norway – I am very curious about the outcome – still long way to go, anyway.

So, the first week was mainly about getting to know the place, meetings, etc. I am curious, what will nextweek bring.

The GIS in development cooperation – Teachers mobility (my project) benefits from a 2.000 € grant from Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway through the Norway Grants. The aim of the project is to to create a suitable background for establishing successful partnerships at the bilateral and international level between institutions and individuals involved in the educational sphere in the Czech Republic and the Donor States – in this case Norway.

logo-350

One thought on “Participatory GIS at NTNU, Norway – is there any?

  1. Pingback: GIS in development cooperation – Teachers mobility | geoparticipation

Leave a Reply

